Book Lists

Best Books of 2022 (2022 Hit List)

It’s that time of year again where I do my year-end round ups! I always love these, because I get a chance to just really review what a year I’ve had for reading. This year, I hit a serious reading slump in the fourth quarter, just because I was so, so busy at work, so even though I hit my reading goals, I still feel like I didn’t read quite as much as a I wanted to. Nonetheless, I did read a lot more new releases this year than I ever have before and I wanted to get through as many of the books as I could.

I try to avoid super big posts because I’m busy, you’re busy, I like things to be short and sweet, but I will say that I compiled this list by going back and looking at my Goodreads and picking which books stood out for me. I’ve talked about each one before, so I’ll just share a few thoughts on each, but please keep in mind that sometimes the timing and distance has made me change my feelings about books a little (but probably not a lot).

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s jump into the best 2022 releases I read:

As a senior in high school, Micah Wilkes boyfriend was convicted of murdering her best friend. Now, ten years later, she starts to question everything she thought she knew about her friend’s death.

This one I talked about in my Thriller Beach Reads. Overall, the mystery was solid, the writing was good, and the whole premise was engaging. I’m not saying it’s my favorite thriller ever, but it was definitely one that I got some enjoyment out of!

When Kit Walker was abducted by Manny Romero, she found herself becoming his partner-in-crime. But as he becomes abusive, she makes her escape. Now, thirteen years later, she’s made a home for herself and her daughter when Manny shows up, claiming to be a changed man.

I’ve talked a bit about this book already, (and even did a full review), so some of you know I was way more interested in the flash backs than the “present day” parts of the novel. Still, even though I was disappointed with it, I realize that disappointment stemmed from my expectations being so high. Overall, this was actually a good, enjoyable book and I would recommend it to anyone who likes that kind of southern gothic feel.

The story of a serial killer on death row told through the eyes of the women who shaped his life and inevitable downfall. This tells the story of Ansel, who is scheduled to die in twelve hours, his mother, the homicide detective responsible for capturing him, his ex-wife and her twin sister who was Ansel’s wife.

I mentioned this book in my “Next Big Book” Beach Reads and overall, I still have pretty fond feelings of this one. Just the style, the characters, the way it all came together. I found myself engaged from beginning to end. It had some hard topics, so uncomfortable matters, but that’s what made it a book that I really did enjoy.

Sally Holt’s older sister, Kathy disappeared fifteen years earlier. Now the only one who can possible understand how it feels to be left behind, always wondering is Kathy’s boyfriend, Billy, who is strictly off limits. This is the story of how the absence of one person can leave a gaping hole in the lives of so many.

Even though I was taken aback by the title and how the book was pitched (spoiler: it’s not a mystery!) , I actually really enjoyed this book. I did a full review, but to summarize my thoughts, I loved the atmosphere. I loved the hurt and anguish coupled with the nostalgia and love. I just thought it was really well rounded and very engaging.

At just six years old, Margot’s best friend, January Jones, was murdered in small town Wakarusa, Indiana. Now, twenty years later, news breaks of five-year-old Natalia Clark going missing one town over at the same time that Margot moves back to Wakarusa to take care of her ailing uncle. She feels she owes it to her childhood best friend to solve the case, but Margot soon realizes that small town secrets are darker and more twisted than she had ever imagined as a small child.

Even though I talked about how I didn’t really care for the woe-is-me-small-towns-are-the-devil-and-the-only-reason-I’m-not-a-good-person-now cliché I talked about in my full review, I really, really liked this book. I liked the atmosphere and the setting (even if the social commentary got super preachy at points). The mystery was good, I liked the characters, I liked all their flaws. I liked how the whole story developed and I especially liked that the twist was a twist, but not, if that makes sense? Anyway, it as one that helped pull me through the fourth quarter lull!

When John Neville, the man convicted of murdering April Coutts-Cliveden dies in prison, her best friend, Hannah (aka, the girl who put him in jail) starts to wonder if he was the real killer.

I took a while to read this one, because it came right in the middle of my busiest time at work so far, but it was one that, while long, was engaging enough to keep me coming back. It was a solid story with enough interest to make me want to know the end. I will say, it could’ve easily been 100 pages shorter and still been a good book. Probably even a better one without that kind of drag that long books often get.

The third book in the Beartown series about those who run toward fire.

This book destroyed me. “This hurts too much to touch with words.” Expect a full review on this one. I am still reeling.

What new releases did you fall in love with this year? Did you read any on my list? What were your thoughts? Let me know the answer to these questions in the comments below. Also, be sure to follow my blog for more year-end roundups.

Happy reading,

-kj

Leave a comment